Publication Achieved . . . now what?

Image

 

The beer was drunk, and very tasty it was, too!  Thanks, Rebecca.  As some of you may know, my novella OTD: An African War was published and stormed up the best seller chart reaching 10,078.  Not bad for over two million books on there.  It was really exciting to see it up there, on Amazon for the first time.  Of course getting it published was only half the battle. Now it’s up there, I can’t just rest on my laurels expecting sales, I need to actively go out and publicise the sucker.  This is where the real difference between indie publishing and traditional publishing hits home.  I don’t have a big company to fight my corner, gaining the book attention.  I need to do this alone, and to be honest, it’s not the easiest task.  How do you convince someone to buy a book, by an author they’ve never heard of?  I’ll be honest, there’s a lot of terrible writing on Amazon, books that have not been edited or reviewed.  Not long after I got my Kindle, I went through a bit of a download craze, getting books left right and centre.  Some of the worst writing I’ve ever come across, so bad, I couldn’t finish it even for the sake of the story.  Now, I always make sure to download a sample chapter to make sure I’m not disappointed with a purchase. 

 

Anyway, getting people to buy.  Of course, the best thing is reviews on Amazon for my book.  So if anyone reading finishes my book, be a hero and put a review up.  Also, word of mouth goes a long way.  Recommendations from friends is always good. Aside from that, it’ll be an uphill struggle.  I don’t have the money to pour into advertising.  So what have I been doing?  Well I did my first interview with a website, I’ll let you know when it’ll be available when I know.  I’ve got another interview lined up with a very popular blog.  I’m pretty excited about that one.  There’s always Facebook to get the word out, but I don’t like to be one of those people who keep pestering friends, begging them to “like” this page or that.  If people want to find me, I’m there.  Then there’s Twitter.  I’ve had Twitter for some time now, and didn’t use it much, but I’m starting to see the benefit of it.  I’ve followed some promising indie authors, exchanged a few tweets with them.  It’s all fun and a nice way to meet people in the same position as myself.  Then I came across indie authors who had 54,000 followers on Twitter.  I thought, wow, their books must be awesome. But after a little investigating, it wasn’t always the case. Sure there are many great indie authors with a ton of followers, then there are the writers who use Twitter as an automated advert service. If you Tweet them, you rarely hear back.  I know of a couple of programs that let you add followers automatically, building your “brand.”  But seriously, what’s the point in Twitter if people only reach your computer and not you? This sounds like a rant, and it kind of is one.  Here’s the thing, if I ever become popular enough that people want to tweet me, I’ll always make the effort to reply. Sure, there might be times when I can’t, but these will be rare.  Twitter is meant to connect people, not just an automated advert service.  So yeah, I’m looking to become more active with Twitter, just not in a “let my computer handle it all” way. 

 

There are a couple of other wee projects in the pipeline for advertising that’s being worked on, but I’ve no real idea when these will be unleashed on you all.  It’s a bit of an experiment, could be fantastic, then again, could be utter turd!    

 

So I thought I’d update you with what I’ve read this week.  I met Aderyn Wood on Twitter (@AderynWood).  She was nice, friendly and most important, a real person.  Her first publication The Viscount’s Son is a short novelette.  It’s a wonderful read that you could complete over a couple of evenings.  It’s not the genre that I usually read in, but heck, once I started, I couldn’t stop! Very strong writing and I will be picking up her next work when it’s ready for publication.  A writer to watch out for in the future. Take it from me, you should check it out, and at only £0.77 it’s a bargain.

 

I had a counselling essay to write this week.  It was a nightmare but I got there in the end.  Well I got there a couple of hours ago.  I always work better when I know the deadline is closing in.  Tomorrow, I’ve got the odious task of watching a recording of myself conducting a mock counselling session.  I need to reflect back on this.  I hate seeing/hearing myself on camera.  It’s got to be done, I suppose.  After that, I’ll actually have time to write some of the next novella.  This has been on hold for a few weeks and I’m actually looking forward to going back and writing it.

 

I thought I’d leave you all with a song that’s been stuck in my head for a while now.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you,  Primal Rock Rebellion – No Place Like Home

 

Thanks for reading along.  I hope you all enjoyed.  Until next time    

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

