Don’t fire until you see the whites of the pages

poisonSo some of you may have noticed that there were no blogs last week. The reason . . . food poisoning! I endured a week of hell due to a dodgy sandwich. I won’t be eating pre-made sandwiches from now on.

Good news on the paperback front. Today I finalised the online proof. It all looks awesome and now I just need to visit the bank and set up my royalties account and things will be ready to go. There was a small issue with the resolution of the cover image, but that’s being looked into. By all accounts, the paperback should be available to buy within the week. More to follow when I know for sure.

My first interview went live on Indie Author Land today. For those who would like to read it, find it here. It was really exciting to be interviewed. I hope that if you read it you like it and understand a little bit more about my book, Only The Dead: An African War. I’m still working on marketing my book. It really is a tough slog and it could easily suck a lot of time out of my schedule if I let it. I’m trying to balance my time between university work, publicising OTD, and writing the sequel.

I’ve decided that I’ll be trying something new, writing two novellas at the same time. I’ve never been a fan of writing two stories at the same time. I much prefer to write and complete one then move onto the next, but this can be time consuming so I thought I’d try something different. I’m aiming for a chapter for each in seven days. I’ll let you all know how this goes. It might fail before it really takes off but I’m willing to give it a go. The other novella I’m writing is so different to what I usually write, it’s a bit of an experiment in itself but I think the story is good. I’ll just have to work hard to not have any explosions or gunfire in it! It’s basically a reworking of a short story I wrote several years ago which I always intended to expand on. I hesitate to call it a love story, but it is, and with a hint of thriller about it. I’m still struggling with a name for it but it has a working title of “Angel” for no other reason than that is the nickname that the two characters have for each other. Depending on how I get on writing it I might post a small extract on my blog.

I’ve started speaking to another author via Twitter. Xander (@DraculaReturns). He’s given me a lot of advice on marketing which I’ll be taking on board and applying to my own novel. I’ve just bought his book and I’m impressed with what I’ve read so far. You can find his novel here. I would recommend it so if you’re looking for something fresh to read, check this out.

A little bit more self-promotion here. Only The Dead: An African War is now on Goodreads and just received its first review. 5 star! Check it out here. It’s really encouraging to have such a strong first review. Hopefully this will help more people pick it up.

I thought I would leave you all with a meme that has been making me laugh so much of late. I really love memes, they make me laugh so much, especially this one. It was my friend Kev who shared it. Hope you all find it as funny as I did. pervert-gorilla<a

I’m off to do some writing. Hope you all enjoy the blog. Until next time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

