Success!

success_meme

Hey all. Hope everyone is doing great. So it’s time for another blog. As the title would suggest, there’s been a small development. The paperback issue has been resolved. Thanks to Xander (@DraculaRekindled) for clearing up a little confusion I had with Createspace. It turns out that I didn’t actually need the number from the IRS to place the paperback for sale, but I do need it if I want to keep all profits on any American sales my book may make. So I went ahead and completed the setup so the paperback should be available from Amazon and the Createspace eStore in 5-7 working days. Exciting. I get my authors copy soon. I’m really excited to actually hold a physical copy of my book. I’ll be sure to snap a picture of it when it is in my grubby hands 🙂

So again I’ve augmented my writing strategy for my next few works. I’ve decided to attempt to write two novellas and have a bash at the sequel to Welcome To Carrion City. Many writers will tell you that there are days where you just don’t feel like writing or encounter the old advisory of writers block. My reasoning for starting three works is that if there are days where I don’t fancy writing my current work in progress, I’ll have another couple to jump into that might seem easier to write at the time.
I found an old disc with some of my pre-college writing files on it. Wow, I’ve come a long way. It was quite interesting to see how much I’ve improved. I happened on the first chapter of a fantasy novel I wrote when I was 22 or so. The story is one I plan to insert into my planned fantasy series. I came up with the original idea for this years ago, when I was about 16-17 but just never felt I had the skill to tackle it. Now I’ve been toying with the idea and have actually started the first chapter. I probably won’t write much more of it now, but it’s nice to have a proper start. The series title will be “These Craven Times” and the first book will be “The Crowns of Conquered Kings.” Perhaps I’ll blog about the plot in a future post. When people ask me about the plot, I still have trouble rationalising it as there’s a lot to be decided. Like I said it’s not my priority when it comes to writing, but it’s nice to have a writing goal and a fantasy series is one of mine.

I’m still working on getting the word out about my book. It’s a slow process and I’ve not been as active as I should have been on this. I’ve read that a lot of authors wait until they have more than one work available before they start the advertising process in earnest. I like this idea as a writer with more than one work will surely appeal more to a reader. Or that’s my thinking. I’ll slowly keep working on Twitter and try and do more interviews to get the word out, then when my next work is available, I’ll perhaps throw a little money toward the advertising process. It’s all a learning experience.

So I did an interview with Indie Author Land (www.indieauthorland.com) here’s the link if you’d like to read it http://www.indieauthorland.com/archives/3250 Only The Dead: An African War got to number 3 in their weekly chart. I was really happy with this. I really admire sites that want to shine a light on indie authors. There’s so much great writing out there just waiting to be discovered. I always feel like indie authors are given a bad reputation by some of the dross published on Amazon. This site is a great way to discover new books and I’d urge you all to check it out. Who knows, you might just discover your new favourite book. And I like to give a shout out to books I’ve enjoyed so if you’re looking for something awesome to read, I would suggest Wrath by Kirkus MacGowan (@KirkusMacGowan). It’s an awesome read.

Well that’s about it from me for now. I would like to say I was going to write some more, but the truth is I’m off to get a cup of tea and watch a little tv. Until next time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Success!

  1. ED Martin says:

    I have about 30 short stories and 2 novels in the works, in the hopes that I’ll always have something to work on. Some days it works, some it doesn’t. 🙂

    • mwduncan says:

      Wow, I don’t think I’ll ever have that many WIP, but I’m trying something new to encourage me to write more. I’m always worried I’ll confuse myself doing this 🙂 We shall see

  2. It’ll be so exciting having a print copy of your book. I think every single writer craves that day, whether or not they are self publishers or not!

    • mwduncan says:

      I’m really looking forward to it, just to hold it in my hands and know it’s all my work. I keep waiting for the post to see if it arrives 🙂 Thanks for reading my post

Leave a Reply

