Tick Tock!

Hey all! So there wasn’t a blog at the start of the week. I had an assessment to do for my Open University course. It seemed to suck all my time and energy, but I’m sitting down now to write a blog. I’d just like to start by mentioning Twitter. Yesterday I had the great pleasure at meeting many really friendly and nice people. Usually when I make connections on Twitter it’s just a couple of tweets but yesterday was awesome. Lots of conversations going on and people I’ll follow via their blogs and writing. Thank you all for showing me Twitter can be great!

pocket-watchSome of you may remember that I have my novel, Welcome To Carrion City under consideration with a publisher. Well, it’s now been seven months since they received the full manuscript. I had a look on their website and it does in fact say that they can take 7-9 months to reply. But I decided to sent them a polite and friendly email just to see if they could confirm they were still looking at the novel or not. I think this was a bit of a gamble but there’s not much to lose by doing this. If they’re not interested, there are others to send it to or even self-publish the sucker. Yesterday, I also submitted it to another publisher. Now there’s a bit of a debate with whether you should send your manuscript out to just one publisher at a time or many. For me, I feel it’s unreasonable to assume a writer will wait months for a single rejection before moving on. Others may differ with this but that’s how it works for me. The publisher I sent it to has a much faster turnaround time and I should hear back within three weeks. I’m not expecting much but it doesn’t hurt to try. At the moment my novella writing is receiving more of my attention than my novels.

I’ve actually managed to have more time with my Kindle this week. It’s such an awesome feeling to not be reading academic material. There are very few things I like better than getting a cup of tea and sitting down with my Kindle. Wow, that makes me sound boring as hell! My book is up to number 2 in the weekly top ten chart on @Indieauthorland. I’m so happy with this. Again, if you’ve not read my interview, check it out here http://www.indieauthorland.com/archives/3250 I’ve also got a couple more interviews coming up in the next month or so. When I know more, I’ll post about it.

Only The Dead: An African War now has 3 five star reviews. One on Amazon.com, one on Amazon.co.uk and one on Goodreads. I couldn’t be more happy with the feedback I’m getting for it, though I am prepared for some negative reviews. Every writer gets some. So I’d just like to remind anyone who has bought the book if you’ve finished it and enjoyed it, please put a review up on Amazon and/or Goodreads. It doesn’t have to be a huge review just enough to tell others what you thought. Reviews are primarily what encourages others to take a chance and buy a book. So please, just take a few minutes from your day and pop one on Amazon.

Well I hope you all have an awesome weekend. I think I may venture out to the cinema this weekend. Until next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tick Tock!

  1. The Doc says:

    Cool blog Mark,
    Agree with your thoughts on sending to more than one publisher at a time. Typically, the main course of action for “traditional” publishing is to get an agent to approach the publishers for you and they will approach pretty much everyone in the industry that they feel will want your book. Alas, as you can imagine, getting an agent is harder than getting a publisher interested (2 dozen rejections here). There are plenty of sites out there that will tell you some of the tricks of agency involvement… (fraid I can only echo what they say as my successful responses from Agents is precisely nil).

    Cool interview too, my interview has just gone up today…
    http://www.indieauthorland.com/archives/3566

    Keep up the good fight, I’ll have to download your book when I get some free time – on my holiday soon so am looking for some reads to take with me.
    Andy
    Ps. I’m about to send you an email with that link I mentioned on twitter yesterday…

    • mwduncan says:

      Hey Andy. Thanks for reading the blog. To be honest, the idea of getting an agent never really interested me. It seemed so much work for little reward. I’ve always just went straight to the publishers. I enjoyed your interview. Think it will generate good interest for your book, again thanks for taking the time to read my interview. It’s a really great site.

      Cheers that would be awesome. If you do get it, and enjoy it, would you be interested in writing a few sentences that I can attribute to you for my Amazon product description page? Don’t worry if you don’t, I just thought I would ask

  2. ED Martin says:

    Best of luck wit your query process! I know that for me, the small press I signed with is a much better fit than trying to go the traditional agent-Big6/5 route.

    As for focusing on novellas vs novels, having successful self-published books definitely helps when trying to get a publisher, especially an indie one.

    Again, good luck!

    • mwduncan says:

      Thank you so much. Yes, I’m in the same boat. I don’t think my writing would fit (or is good enough) for the big publishers. Besides, I think working with a small press will be much more exciting, and allow you to retain some control of your work and such.

      Well that’s what I’m hoping. If my novellas do well, perhaps some publisher will be more inclined to pick up my novels. It’s always been my intention to self-pub my novellas and have an actual publisher for my novels.

      Thank you

  3. Good luck with the publishers! I think as long as the first one you sent to didn’t request sole review of the manuscript (I can’t remember the proper term offhand) the it’s okay to send to others after a period of time. I agree it’s unreasonable to wait 7 months or more while waiting for a response.

  4. mwduncan says:

    Thank you, Jennifer. That’s really nice of you to say. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Yeah, I can’t think of the term either but I know what you mean. No, they didn’t request that. It was probably silly of me in the first place to just wait for the one publisher to get back to me. I was just so excited to have actual interest in my work. Again, thank you. I just needed a little bit of reassurance!

Leave a Reply

