Hail To The King, Baby!

hail to the king

Hey all. Time for another blog. So what’s been happening with me? Well Only The Dead: An African War reached the top spot in Indie Author Land’s weekly top ten. I’m so happy about this. I never expected my book to create such interest. It’s both flattering and encouraging that I’m up there at no.1 http://www.indieauthorland.com/archives/3811 And if anyone is wondering the Hail To The King, Baby title came from the film Army of Darkness. If you’ve not seen it, and enjoy comedy horror you should check it out. It’s a film that I’ve seen countless times and always enjoy. There’s so many great moments. Go watch it and thank me later!

I’ve decided to cut my Friday blog to only an occasional occurrence. My life is just not that interesting that it requires a blog entry twice a week 😉 Really though, I feel like the time could be better spent writing. I’ll still do it, just not as often. I don’t want to start just writing nonsense which nobody will want to read.

My writing of late has become pretty slow. I’ve knocked out about 1000 words in the last week. It’s a piss-poor performance. I’m probably just in a lull right now. I’m sure I’ll pick up once I get some inspiration. Does anyone else find that when writing, you know where you want to take the story and characters, just not how to start getting there? That’s how I’m feeling right about now. I always struggle with myself to leave out details that the reader probably doesn’t need to know, but I always seem inclined to include. Does it matter what the Taxi driver looked like, or is it enough to simply show that the character took the taxi from A to B. Especially if the driver won’t be in it again? It’s a fine balance and one I don’t always get right. Thankfully I’ve a few writer friends who help point out what’s needed and not. I’m always learning when it comes to writing. I don’t think I’ll ever stop learning something new.

I’m planning of having a mini-clear out and putting some things on eBay. Clothes that don’t fit mostly and a few other things. I forgot how annoying it is preparing to sell on eBay. It’s such a chore making sure you have all the right boxes for sending and writing out accurate descriptions. Or maybe I’m just lazy when it comes to this. Thankfully I’ve never had any issues with actually selling so it should be all fine and good.

In a slightly humours turn on events I was actually asked to sign a copy of my paperback. I must admit, I felt a little silly doing this but it was nice to be asked. I really need to work on my hand writing. Because most of my writing is typed I’m so out of practice writing with a pen that it looks like a child wrote it.

So I thought I’d leave you all with the song I’ve been listening to the most this week. It’s by Porcupine Tree. I know I’ve talked about them before, but they really are an awesome band. It’s the song Drawing The Line from The Incident album. It’s a great song with amazing lyrics, if you ask me. Until next time. Take it easy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kAJlmzsJDk
Camphor crossed with lace, it is the witching hour
Cinematic but crude
Teasing all my feelings out, you move away
It seems so natural to you

Still siren, climbing up the victory tower
Like there’s something left to prove
I trap the beads of sweat that run between my eyes
And free the fever to move

I’m drawing the line, I’m drawing the line
I’m drawing the line, I draw the line
And I have my pride
I’m taking control, I’m taking control
I’m taking control, I’m taking control
And I save my soul
I’m shutting you out, I’m shutting you out
I’m shutting you out, I’m shutting you out
And I have no doubt

Dreamt the sound of scissors, cutting stitches out
Then discarding the used
Recording all my problems onto memory cards
Your compassion unmoved

Onto others what they always do to you
The most twisted of your rules
Distil malaise and photograph the hole it leaves
Running out a copy for you

I’m drawing the line, I’m drawing the line
I’m drawing the line, I draw the line
And I have my pride
I’m taking control, I’m taking control
I’m taking control, I’m taking control
And I save my soul
I’m shutting you out, I’m shutting you out
I’m shutting you out, I’m shutting you out
And I have no doubt

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

