Well. . . better late than never!

Greetings all. So my blog is a day late. I had an appointment at hospital I needed to make yesterday and when I got home I wasn’t really feeling like sitting down to write a blog. Still, better late than never! Hope you’re all doing well.

My writing has been going pretty well this last week. I’ve got almost 2000 words done for my Carrion City extension. I’m pretty happy with it. So far it’s all just introductions to the main characters but I think I’m managing to show the reader why these set of characters are involved in the story. I’m pretty excited about the whole thing. I think I do prefer writing in the third person. I feel it opens up more possibilities, to escape the confines on a single characters mind. I always seem to struggle to know when to limit an outside narrator in third person. For example, how much of the authors’ voice is acceptable in third person. Do readers prefer hearing it mostly from the characters perceptions? I guess it’ll be trial and error. When I’m reading, I don’t mind the authors’ voice intruding on the story. There’s some things that need to be told that a character in the story just wouldn’t be able to deliver. Maybe I’m worrying about nothing. What’s everyone’s thoughts on this?

I’ve been thinking of making Only The Dead:An African War free for a couple of days on Amazon. Hopefully this will encourage people to download and review it. Doing this would mean that I need to plan ahead with some promotion on the impending price drop. I just don’t know if I have the time for that right now. It’s something I’ll think about over the next week or so. If I do decide to do this, I’ll be spamming everyone with promotion tweets etc. Sorry in advance should I do this 🙂

Well that’s it from me this week. It’s just a short blog, I’ve got a million things to do today and very little motivation to get them done. Hope you all have a great week. Until next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Well. . . better late than never!

  1. Kate says:

    Know what you mean about 3rd person writing – it’s very versatile. Sometimes for me, though, I find writing in the 1st person the only way to really get under the skin of a character. Can be interesting to switch to 3rd person afterwards… keeping the intensity but giving new perspectives. As a reader I think you can get the best of both worlds in that sense.

  2. mwduncan says:

    I know what you mean, Kate. I do enjoy writing in 1st for the reason that you can really let the reader know what’s going on. As for switching, I don’t really like when writers mix perspectives in a novel, but that’s just personal preference on my part

    • Kate says:

      Ah, oops – that was me not being very clear. I meant that once I’ve written a passage in 1st person it can be interesting to then rewrite the same bit in 3rd (so that the final piece is all in 3rd person but I get additional depth from having written it in 1st initially)

      • mwduncan says:

        Ah, I see what you mean. Silly me 🙂 You’re right, that does sound like a great way to transfer the intimacy of 1st into the 3rd person perspective. It’s not something I’ve done before, or really thought of. Perhaps I’ll give that a try!

Leave a Reply

