Another Essay Down!

Hi all. So, I’m back after a couple of weeks of frantic revision and essay writing I finally have some time to myself. My Open University course is almost complete now. I’ve one final assessment to do in September and that’s it complete. It’s been a tough course, dealing with difficult themes and subjects. For those that don’t know, it’s the study of Death and Dying. Sounds a barrel of laughs, I know, but it’ll be useful as I work toward my end goal of being a counsellor.

I’m pretty impressed with my writing this last week. I’ve completed a 2,500 word introduction for my novel, introducing the characters that I’m pretty happy with. I’ll need to make some changes to the body of the novel to accommodate this but I think I can make it work. It fleshes them out a little and I also introduced a new character, Andor Toth, a Hungarian working in the UK. I’ve also got about 1,600 words done for the first new chapter. It basically carries on from where I would have ended the novel. Without giving too much away, the last 30,000 words will have a lot of action, and I’m thinking perhaps one character should die. . . or not. We’ll see what happens. I’m really excited about how the novel is turning out. I already have ideas how it should end but nothing is for sure yet. I’ve been thinking about the title, Welcome To Carrion City. While I do like it, I’ve been thinking of shortening it to just Carrion City. Any thoughts and/or preferences? Let me know.

So the other day somehow I got stuck watching an episode of Grand Designs. For those of you who don’t know, it’s where rich people build their dream house from scratch usually. Anyway, this couple build a butt-ugly white house and the presenter was in the kitchen with them, talking about all the features. It looked very clinical, almost like a morgue, or so I thought. Then they came to the kitchen sink. Now, how much would you be willing to pay for a tap? Let me tell you that these two douches paid £1000 for the kitchen tap. No, it wasn’t gold. It was a stainless steel tap. The presenter, rightfully gobsmacked at the price asked, “Do you feel that the tap is worth £1000?” And the woman answered, “Yes, I think it was worth every penny.” Okay, I might sound like a bitter tool here but how do these people justify that amount of money? Seriously, how many vaccinations in Africa could that have bought? Or supplied clean water to a community in desperate need. If ever I’m in the position where I have that much money, you can be sure that my taps will be regular run of the mill types, and plenty of money will be going to the needy! It just annoyed me so I thought I would rant about it.

world-war-z-filmI saw World War Z at the weekend finally. I have to say that I was really impressed. The action was great, the story interesting, and the kind-of solution to the virus was quite unique. It was also cool to see the scenes shot in Glasgow! I would very much recommend it, and you wouldn’t have to be a zombie fan to see it. I also do a pretty awesome impression of the zombie scientist in the isolation lab!

Well, I’m off to put the finishing touches to my new chapter, then play something on my laptop. I’m thinking of Men of War: Assault Squad. It’s pretty good, but very difficult! Until next time. Catch you all later!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Essay Down!

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Wow, you’ve been having a week or two of achievements! Well done. Your OU course makes me feel a bit frivolous; I’m just thinking of doing Creative Writing. 😉
    £1000 on a tap? Mental. As you say, so much could be done with that money. Even if you’re not the philanthropic type, on a TAP?? For goodness sake, use it to visit somewhere interesting or buy a piece of art or swim with sharks or…!!!
    And lastly, I also very much enjoyed World War Z. Fast-paced with some jumpy moments! One of the scenes was filmed in Grangemouth, just a few miles from where I live. 🙂

    • mwduncan says:

      Hi Karen. I did both Creative Writing and Advance Creative Writing with the OU. I felt that Creative Writing was great, but Advanced CW was a little tricky. I had a strict tutor that didn’t write the same style as me. I still passed it though. Maybe I just like to moan 🙂

      I know, there’s so much more that could be done with £1000. It just reinforced why I hate those shows so much, more money than sense 😉

      That’s pretty awesome. I wanted to go down and be an extra for it but the timing was all wrong with assessments 😦

  2. Kieron says:

    Hi Mark,

    Would you mind dropping me a quick email if you have 2 minutes free please?

    I’ve tried to find an email address on your site, but I wasn’t able to unfortunately,

    Thanks a lot,
    Kieron

Leave a Reply

