The Fallout From The Free Promotion!

Hey all! Time I sat down and reflected back on what happened with my free promotion for Only The Dead: An African War. First off, I’d like to say a huge thank you to everyone who downloaded the book, helped get the word out or just offered some encouragement. It was a great success, much above what I ever hoped to achieve. The book went to #1 in the Africa section and #1 in the Military section on Amazon.com. In the UK on Amazon.co.uk, it went to #1 in Africa and #3 in Military. blog 2

blog 1

Again, thank you to everyone who helped! If you have read my book, then please consider posting a short review on Amazon. It really helps and doesn’t take long. Thanks.

I learnt some lessons while the promotion was on. The first thing is never run a promotion when you’re away from your laptop and relying on your mobile to interact with people on Twitter. I went down to Glasgow to enjoy some of the Christmas festivities. While it was lovely, I felt like I was glued to my mobile, with Twitter notifications going on left, right and centre. Another thing is that I both love and hate Twitter. I met some seriously awesome people on there, interacted with them, had a laugh. Brilliant. But then you get Twitter accounts that are automated by whatever program. These really annoy me. What’s the point of having a Twitter account if you’re letting a computer run it? Oh yeah, to force your product or website down people’s throat! Rant over! For those of you I did meet on Twitter! You’re all awesome!

I myself felt bad connecting with people and mentioning to them that my novella was free, but needs must. I’m sorry if I came off pushy(I hope I didn’t) but I really needed to get the word out there! I hope you’re all enjoying my book!

I suppose I better go and do something productive toward my university course. Is anyone else panicking about the speed with which Christmas is approaching? Yikes! Better get my shopping done! Until next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fallout From The Free Promotion!

  1. Rush11 says:

    Congrats! Excellent promotion, and a super way for more people to read your great story.

Leave a Reply

