Why I love Bookstores

books

So, the other day, I had finished university for the day and decided to take a trip into the city and visit Waterstones. It got me thinking about how much I love visiting bookstores. I love walking in, seeing books on every available shelf space. I love seeing the people in there, browsing for a new read. I love taking my time, walking through the store, picking up random books that catch my interest and checking out the blurbs on the back. I love sitting down to a cup of tea in the cafe, surrounded by books. Of course, I usually come away from the bookstore with a new paperback in my bag. The only way I can sum up the feeling is like when I was little and my mum would take me to a toy store and I could spend some of my savings and get a new toy. It gives me goosebumps to think that one day, my book could grace the shelves of a major bookstore. It’s a goal to work toward, I suppose.

I did get a good boost the other day. I was sent a picture of the paperback version of my novella that had recently arrived in Banchory Library (second shelf down). I don’t understand how libraries acquire new books but it was a pretty awesome feeling to know that my book is filtering out there into the wider world! library

The free promotion I ran at the start of the month went very well. Almost double what was downloaded on the first promotion. Again, my book went to #1 in the African sections on Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com. I know I keep harping on about this but if you downloaded it and read it, then please consider leaving a short review on Amazon or Goodreads (Both would be even better). It takes a few moments and helps any author get his work noticed.

So, I’m back to editing my novel, refining it into something to really be proud of. It’s an exciting time, even if it is difficult to tear apart your creation. It’ll be worth it in the end. Hope you’re all well. Until next time

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I love Bookstores

  1. hesthermay says:

    I looove bookstores too! 🙂

    • mwduncan says:

      There’s just something magical about them, being surrounded by all those books. It gives me shivers sometimes to think that I could one day be part of that. Nice to meet you on WordPress 🙂

Leave a Reply

