Only The Dead: Part 2 is . . .

Hey all! It’s been a while since I have updated my blog. Sorry for that. Things have been crazy with me lately. My Gran wasn’t too well for a while and ended up in hospital. She’s back home now and is doing well, getting better each day. It was quite a scare but things turned out fine in the end. I’m also coming to the end of my counselling skills course so have an essay and various other assessments to complete over the coming weeks so I’ve been busy with that, too. My counselling journey doesn’t stop here, though. No, sir. I’m moving forward with more counselling courses in the next semester. I’m really excited about this. I also may have some rather big news regarding counselling later in the year. Watch this space.

So, I promised an update on Only The Dead: Part 2. Well there is good news and bad news. I’ll go with the bad news first. I’ve basically decided to start from scratch. This means that any potential release date I had in my head no longer applies. There is a very good reason for this. I’d been writing and writing Part 2 and then I stopped and reviewed what I’d come up with. While it was all fine and good, I found it a little boring and not what I really wanted to put across to the reader. I bounced a few ideas off of a couple of my writer friends and they agreed with my assessment. One of the best bits of advice I got was “Write what you think the reader should know, not what you know.” By this, I know all the ins and outs of the characters and story as they’re alive in my mind. However, this doesn’t mean that the reader needs to know about what they’re eating for their dinner (it was fish fingers, if anyone cares). So I hit the delete button on the many thousands of words I’d written and was faced with the blank page again. Rather than be daunted by this, I’m actually excited. Instead of the story starting back in Britain we are now going back to a war zone. This gives me ample opportunity to develop the main character further, really allow his complex nature to shine through. I’ll perhaps post some updates as my writing progresses. It’s not going to be an easy task. I’m aiming for 40,0000 words, around the same as the first one.

I’d also like to take this chance to again ask that if anyone has read Only The Dead: An African War to leave a review on both Amazon and Goodreads. The reviews I have on it already are brilliant and I’d like to build on this. Well that’s about it for me. I’ve got to go and finish the conclusion of my essay! Until next time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Only The Dead: Part 2 is . . .

  1. Karen Soutar says:

    Hello! Sorry to hear about your Gran – glad things are okay now. Good luck with the essay and the next part of Only The Dead.:-)

    • mwduncan says:

      Thanks Karen. That’s really sweet of you! Only The Dead is an uphill battle but I’ll get there!

      How’s the OU Creative Writing course going?

      • Karen Soutar says:

        Just about to hand in my last TMA. Then it’s EMA at the end of May and then I’m done. I’ve really enjoyed it but I’m looking forward to going back to writing entirely my choice of length and genre. I’ve written some bits and pieces for the course that may turn into longer story ideas in the future, though!

      • mwduncan says:

        It’s a good feeling handing in that EMA! šŸ™‚ I know what you mean, it can be frustrating writing to a set of rules that you may not entirely be comfortable with! Great that you’ve got some material you can use for stories, though šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

