Back Again!

Hey all,

So it’s been quite a while since my last blog, for that, I can only apologise. It’s been a crazy few weeks. My Gran fell ill and was taken to hospital. Thankfully, after a two week stay she’s back home and doing just fine. For a while, everything else stopped but now getting back on track.

I now have 10 reviews for Only The Dead: An African War on Amazon.co.uk all of them positive. I couldn’t be happier with the response I’ve had from readers. That in itself, knowing people are reading and enjoying, is motivation enough to get back and write more. Ideally, I’d like to have the next part of Only The Dead out by the end of summer. I’m not sure how attainable a goal this will be. With the best of intentions, life somehow gets in the way. I’ve made several several choices for the next Only The Dead books. Firstly, I’ll be toning down the swearing some. I always wanted to paint an accurate description of war and its horrors. Swearing is a part of that world. I realise that this can put off some readers so I’m looking to find a middle ground. Less swearing, hopefully, only used when the situation is right. Also have some ideas floating around for the cover of the second book. I spoke to my friend who designed the first book’s cover. He’s keen to take on the role for the second book, too. Also, there will be some minimal changes to the cover of An African War. Mostly just lightening it so the detail is more visible.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-28207444

I thought I would highlight this story from the BBC. For those that don’t want to click the link, it’s basically saying the typical full-time writer earns on average £11,000 per year. Obviously there are the big hitters who earn a hell of a lot more. I don’t think this should come as any surprise to writers. It may be a little disappointing. For me, I’ve never assumed that I would be able to earn a living wage from writing. If I get lucky and manage, I won’t complain, but I’m prepared to have my writing augment my actual career. At the end of the day, writing full-time is a dream we can all aspire to. It’s almost like climbing a ladder, each step another one closer to achieving that hallowed goal. Write book. Edit book. Publish book. Quite job. Write more books. Good formula. Good luck to us all! Until next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

